Some people believe that entertainers are more important than scientists. Do you agree or disagree? Support with reasons and examples from your own experience.

Nowadays, both the entertainment and the science industries are flourishing. Many people argue that entertainers deserve more recognition than scientist, while others glorify scientists. As far as I am concerned, science plays a vital role in developing society and should be recognized more than artists. First and foremost, efforts of scientist help not only an individual, but contribute towards larger parts of the population. New inventions, research and discoveries on various aspects lead to the well-being of many others. For example, gene scissors, invented by one biochemist based in Vilnius pose as a solution to cure incurable diseases and conditions. On the contrary, entertainment provided by various artists is only temporary and usually is dedicated to small groups of individuals. On the other hand, the entertainers posses the ability to be seen in the media. Their success is based on the sales, the view counts and the time they are on TV. Therefore, they hold the power to influence others which can be used to educate. For instance, Bill Nye is famous for his curiosity promoting Science Show. To conclude scientists and entertainers are hardly comparable professions. I hold the opinion that the artists do not deserve the attention that they are receiving, however, if they contributed with the scientist both could benefit.