Some people believe that life in a large city is becoming more and more arduous, while the life in villages is much more beneficial. Do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays the majority of people are finding life in the urban area extremely challenging. It is hard to disagree that life in the countryside brings certain benefits to individuals. However, big cities offer them more opportunities for development and entertainment. To begin with, there are various reasons why urban life can be considered easier than in the countryside. First of all, citizens have more chances to get a better education and make good career growth. Obviously, the majority of the best educational institutions with excellent staff and up to date technology are situated mainly in major cities. In terms of employment, there are wide opportunities for people in metropolis to succeed in their profession and earn the desired salary. Secondly, the level of health care in cities is much higher than in villages or small towns, thus, in extreme cases advanced technologies in hospitals are available to save more lives and prevent serious diseases. Finally, there is a wide range of entertainment and sports facilities in big cities, such as shopping malls, restaurants, sports and dance clubs, which create more contentment in life. On the other hand, life in the cities has certain hardships. The first one is that the cost of living is higher than in rural areas and, consequently, housing is usually much more expensive. To deal with this, citizens have to work much and earn more money. The second problem is traffic congestion and crime which make life in the urban area extremely stressful and terrible. Moreover, due to business and stress cities suffer a lack of community sense and people do not even know their neighbours. As a result, cities are sometimes described as concrete jungles with their rules and conditions that force inhabitants to become more severe to survive. In conclusion, it is undoubtedly true that life in the metropolis is more problematic to some extent than living in the countryside. Nevertheless, from the opposite view, it gives more opportunities in certain aspects.