Some people regard video games as harmless fun, or even as a useful educational tool. Others, however, believe that video games are having an adverse effect on the people who play them. Do the advantages of video games outweigh the disadvantages?

There has been an argument on whether video gaming is beneficial or disadvantageous for people, and children in particular. Personally, despite its positive effects on the users, I believe that video games do more harm than good. On the one hand, there are a number of reasons why it can be argued that video games can be amusing and entertaining. Firstly, video games are often more appealing than the real-life pastimes, since the game players are transported into virtual worlds with colourful scenery and beautiful characters. Accordingly, playing video games can be considered a good form of entertainment for people to relieve stress and relax after tiring days at workplaces. Secondly, from an educational perspective, these games are likely to develop life skills such as problem-solving ability, smart decision-making and communication skills. To illustrate, a game called ''Escape Adventure Island'', which is a 3D game that helps youngsters practice maths, critical thinking skill and reading habits through virtual misson an organization of missionaries in a foreign land sent to carry on religious work mission missing between two groups. Nevertheless, despite the aforementioned benefits, I would argue that video gaming can have a wide range of negative aspects. The first concern is that gaming can be highly habit-forming, because users are usually given expected scores and targets to promote the playing process. Therefore, a lot of young gamers now only take notice of the game and spend hours trying to progress with a view to becoming the winner and receiving rewards. They even sacrifice homework and stay up late just to play continuously. This type of addiction may result in bad consequences, such as low academic performance at school, tiredness or obesity. Additionally, with the widespread popularity of violent and shooting games in recent days, juvenile gamers can be easily affected and copy violent behaviours, as well as become more aggressive. In conclusion, it appears to me that the drawbacks of video games far outweigh its advantages in the long term due to the above-mentioned ground.