Some people think that a sense of competition should be encouraged in children. Others believe that children who are taught to cooperate rather than compete become more useful adults. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

Being able to be competitive or cooperative is a controversial issue facing increasingly by children nowadays. Some opine that cooperativeness is an essential element to become worthy youngsters of society. I am with those who hold the opinion that children should be encouraged to be competitive. On the one hand, it could be thought that if children are taught cooperative skills which enables them to be a good citizen of society. However, such cooperative skills involve better communication, leadership and teamwork, and many factors demand such skills to complete their task. For illustration, a school teacher makes three teams play volleyball, at that time every child must cooperate their team members as to achieve their goal of winning. This led to better communication between team players. Moreover, such experience of cooperation will assist them in the future as they do not tend to face any problem working in the same group of company, whose motive is to gain targets. In contrast, if children dearth these skills of cooperation, they will not be on good terms with their colleagues. However, I believe that there are many reasons to suggest why the feeling of competition should be given more priority. Firstly, competition sense usually allows youngsters to be one step ahead, due to this feeling they can concentrate better on their studies for obtaining high scores in the exams. As a result, they are inclined to get a job in their desired field. Furthermore, such competition skills, hone the talent of children, which introduces them their intellectual skills. For example, if the child is the best at the calculation in math, such talent helps those choosing the best avenues in the field of astronauts or accountant. So in my opinion, competition sense should be fostered in the child. In conclusion, although it is undeniable that cooperative skills once taught to children allow them to communicate better and maintain team spirit between members in the future, sense of competition hone children talent very well in right avenue to opt suitable career in their desired field. Therefore, on balance, I believe that feeling of competition should be encouraged.