In some societies the number of crimes committed by teenagers is growing. Some people think that regardless of age, teenagers who commit major crimes should receive adult punishment. To what extent do you agree?

In recent times, crime committed by teenagers has increased drastically, sparking considerable debate, with many people arguing that teenagers should be punished like adult criminals irrespective of their ages. While I acknowledge the adverse effects of crime in our societies, punishing teens will further worsen the situation. In this essay, I will explore the rationale behind this perspective and articulate my agreement against the notion of strict punishment. First and foremost, teenagers indulge in crime because of their families' socioeconomic conditions. If their families do not spend time with them to discuss what they want, and what they are thinking about, and leave them unattended most of the time, they isolate themselves from their family members and society gradually. This isolation results in depression and anxiety, which later facilitates their committing crimes. For instance, in a family where children are deprived of their basic needs or if their parents cannot fulfil their needs because of financial conditions, they develop a behaviour of stealing things gradually. Therefore, having a good family environment is a must. Furthermore, they lack a basic understanding of what is correct and what is not because of their age. As most children develop a sense of wisdom after a certain age, they mostly get influenced by other children and commit acts that are against the law. Instead, it should be the responsibility of schools and parents to teach them how to detach themselves from being influenced and advise them on how their actions will affect their lives once they engage in crimes. In conclusion, by providing children with an ideal environment, understanding their concerns, and fulfilling their needs, we can keep them away from crime. Also, teaching them the right morals is important to help them develop a sense of right and wrong.