In some countries, many more people are choosing to live alone nowadays than in the past. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

An Increasing number of people now prefer to live alone as compared to the past. I personally believe that it is a negative development because while living alone, we will not able to help each other in an emergency situation and living alone also encourages us do not think about the problems of others and live a selfish life. People now prefer to live alone and by living in separate house we will not help those who faces predicament. This is to say that when someone lives in a different house we are not aware of their situation, what they are going through, thus, we could not help them while they are facing any kind of difficulty in their lives. For example, one of my uncle used to live in an apartment alone when he got a heart attack, he was not in the situation to tell anyone and no one knew what he was going through at that time and after his death his neighbours came to know after 2days of his death then they called us to say that he had died. Living alone also cause selfishness. In other words, we do not want to listen others’ point of view and consider that we are right. For example, a new article of the Jang newspaper reported that 70% of people do not want to live in joint family system in Karachi, which is the largest city of Pakistan, because they do not want to endure others’ opinion and think selfishly just for their own self. In conclusion, although the graph of the people is rising who wants to live alone, I believe it is a negative development because it encourages us to live a selfish life and we are not in the position of helping others at their worst time.