Research suggests that the majority of criminals who are sent to prison would commit crimes when set free. What are the reasons? What can be done to solve the problem?

Research shows that most of ex-prisoners would re-offend after being released back to the society. In this essay, I will highlight some causes behind this phenomenon and suggest several measures to tackle this issue. To begin with, the reasons leading to criminals committing illegalities are varied. Firstly, prison sentences towards serious and dangerous crimes, such as rapists, terrorists, serial killers or murders are not strict enough to make them fully aware of their heinous actions. In fact, in many parts of the world, such crimes are imprisoned for only a few months, which is not deserved with their wrongdoings and likely to encourage them to commit the same offences after being released from jail. Secondly, when setting free, criminals may struggle with making a living and suffer from poverty or unemployment, since everyone in the society knows about their criminal records and would not employ or hire them to work. Seeing all people in the community avoid interacting as well as communicating with them, these prisoners can arise depression mentality, such as social phobia, and therefore committing crimes with a view to drawing people's attention. However, there are a number of solutions that can be taken in order to alleviate its influences. In terms of those who seriously break the laws, they should be given severe punishments, which would act as deterrents and warnings against crimes, and it is fair for them to receive such consequences equivalent to their offences committed. Another key point is to provide prisoners vocational training and education, as well as rehabilitation programmes so that they enable to gain skills and knowledge, which allow them to get decent jobs easily after reintegrating back into the community. In conclusion, in order to prevent criminals from re-offending when sending back to the society, we should increase the deterrence with regard to dangerous crimes, and simultaneously place emphasis on training and educating prisoners in jails.