Today more countries import food from different parts of the world. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this trend. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this trend.

The change of selling products which are imported from other countries instead of local sources in supermarkets is a topic which bears some consideration. This writer argues that the benefits of the quality and the high income outweigh the drawbacks of job loss seen in local farmers. The most advantageous factor for importing foods is that it allows buyers to enhance their health. In other words, most imported foods are usually planted and taken care of with modern technology in developed nations and farmers tend to avoid using pesticides on their products. Thus, people around the world purchase more imported foods than local ones in order to protect themselves as well as their families from pesticides and chemical substances. As a result, supermarkets sell more imported foods to meet the needs of customers. The high income of supermarkets should also be considered. It must recognised that imported foods usually have attractive packaging and various choices for people to buy. Furthermore, imported foods also have the same price as local ones but they gain more nutritious and dean ingredients. Therefore, buyers will be attracted by imported products and spent a lot of money on them. As a result, it will make an increase in supermarket revenue and more and more local supermarkets will invest in imported food from other countries. However, some people think that the large amount of imported food will make farmers lose jobs. This is due to the fact that when people go shopping, they tend to spend money on imported foods and ignore local ones. This may be true but by cooperating and learning farming techniques from developed countries, local farmers will go a long way in advancing local products and regaining buyer's interest. Therefore, the loss of job opportunities is outweighed by the benefits of high-quality products and high revenue for supermarkets. Hence, importing foods from nations all around the world is more beneficial for supermarkets.