Some people believe that sport is an essential part of school life for children, while others feel is should be purely optional. Discuss these opposing views and give your opinion.

Although it is thought by some that games are an important aspect of the school curriculum, others contend that it ought to be one’s personal choice. In my opinion, I believe that playing sports at school level teaches students vital skills for future life. On the one hand, some people consider that school goers participating in sports develop the essential skills of cooperation and competition towards others and I agree. As people, we cannot live, work and succeed apart from others, but at the same time, a healthy competition towards the peers drive the minors to excel forward as they generally apply themselves to achieve the target when being in direct competition with others. These skills, furthermore, are beneficial to the adolescents when, as adults, they have to face the future conflicts and confrontations by utilizing the power of teamwork along with the spirit of competition. A recent survey conducted on successful employees of MNC’s in the UK has concluded that 95% of them were a potential participant of any game up to the secondary education level at school. On the other hand, it is believed by some that it would be more beneficial if a student has the right to opt amongst various options available. Childhood is an age when these budding soles start exploring the world and get attracted towards different activities. Being forced by school authorities to choose any game irrespective of pupil’s choice, consequently, leads to frustration and disinterest among the minors that prevents them focus on the one they thrive in. In many developing countries, for instance, adolescents have the right to select any extracurricular activity with the consent of their parents and are not forced to follow a fixed rule of playing one game. In conclusion, while people may vary in their opinion, I think that children stand a better chance to succeed later in life if they are encouraged to indulge in sports as it teaches them various skills vital for their future.