In some countries the average worker is obliged to retire at the age of 50, while in others people can work until they are 65 or 70. Meanwhile, we see some politicians enjoying power well into their eighties. Clearly, there is little agreement on an appropriate retirement age. Until what age do you think people should be encouraged to remain in paid employment?

There is a wide range of working retirement ages in the world. Some countries set the standard to retire at the age of 50, while many people enjoy working until over the eighties. This essay explains why I believe the suitable age for retirement is 70 years old and the benefits for both societies and individuals. Firstly, the participation of elderly people plays a vital role in Japanese society. The Japanese government is facing a severe shortage of labour. According to an article published by Nikkei newspaper, the number of labour is projected to be two-thirds within 50 years. Although the retirement age is 65 now, the government will expand this age to 70 in the next 5 years to deal with a lack of workforce. If this plan is implemented, the figure of labour can increase and sustain the Japanese economy. Consequently, the encouragement of working until 70 is essential for Japan. Moreover, there is enough time and money to enjoy their hobbies even if people work until 70. This is because the average life span is now over 85 years old. The research by the Ministry of Health in Japan discovered that 80% of middle-aged people answered they want to work until 70 or over to earn enough money to enjoy their retirement life. If people retire so early, 50 years old, for instance, they are likely not to have lots of money to allocate for their hobbies. Therefore, the age of 70 is a practial idea to balance between money and retirement life. In conclusion, although there are some arguments for retirement age, I believe that 70 years old is appropriate. We must keep to consider the effect on society and individuals' well-being.