Nowadays, we are producing more and more rubbish. Why do you think this is happening? What can governments do to help to reduce the amount of rubbish produced?

It is true that these days, too much litter has been produced by us. There are several reasons for this problem, and various measures can be taken by the governments and individuals to improve the situation. At the outset, the most likely culprit here is the modern world. To gain more profit, companies are producing products that have not been made to last; people are bound to throw the discard items on the streets and likely to purchase the new ones. To cite an example from my own experience, recently I purchased a new watch as there was some malfunction with the old one that I brought just six months ago. The problem can also be attributed to over packaging of their products, Manufacturers tend to over pack their products not only for protection but also to make them more attractive. Customers allowed by the adverts, are likely to buy the products with unnecessary package material that would sooner or later end up in the garbage. For instance, electronic accessories purchase online are likely to be packed in bubbled plastic material, and cardboards, and these serve no other purpose. However, some workable solutions can alleviate this situation. An obvious one would be by limiting the packaging material. Governments can play their part by enacting rules and regulation to use less packaging material by companies. Individuals can also assist with avoiding to buy products that are overly packed. Thus, by combining efforts, litter can be reduced to a great extent. Another effective measure could be imposing the quality checks on materials to make sure to produce the products that last long. If qualitative products are sold to customers, they would purchase the products occasionally. For example, 2.5 tons of electronic waste such as computers and mobiles are found in the landfill sites of Indian city Mumbai. Therefore, by taking these steps into practice can ensure less garbage. In conclusion, consumerism and over packaging appear to be at the root of this trouble. However, the issue can be resolved by the collaborative efforts of both governments and individuals.