ome people think that government is wasting money on the arts and that this money could be spent elsewhere. To what extent do you agree with this view?

Opinions of people on the funding of arts differ, some people believe that government is spending unnecessarily on artwork, when available resources could be directed towards financing other projects. A healthy society tends to produce healthy youths who are agile and productive, thereby improving the economy of the country. Public hospitals and primary health centres should be well equipped with state of the art medical gadgets and competent working population. Funding of health care should be the priority of the authorities when allocating funds. Some people argue that when considerable portions of a federal budget, are allocated to constructions of housing estates that are affordable to middle and low income earners, there will be a resultant decline in the number of homeless people and hoodlums, with a similar reduction in robbery and other cases of crime. The incidence of road traffic accidents will reduce to the nearest minimum if there are good roads. Executives should consider spending money on construction of better roads that will stand the test of time, rather than wasting cash on artistry. Good education produces brilliant kids who will grow up to become leaders, doctors, lawyers, engineers, nurses and authorities in different spheres of life. The education sectors need to be adequately funded. Certain categories of people may opine that art receives a larger percentage of government budget distribution, Compared with education, health and works. In Conclusion, there are important sectors of the directorate which, if properly funded, will contribute immensely to the growth and development of a nation.