Some people think that the increasing use of computers and mobile phones in communication has had negative effects on young people’s reading and writing skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often thought by some people that the burgeoning use of computers and mobile devices have a detrimental impact on reading and writing skills of a person. This essay agrees with the above statement. Indubitably stating, a lot of technological advancement has taken place in the past few years. Not only the people have become more dependent on the communication devices, but also spend most of their time on them. As a result, they lack the writing speed in spite of having a good typing speed. A prime example of this is that the students in schools are making increased use of laptops for noting down lectures in classrooms. Hence, such students lack efficient writing skills. Furthermore, there are several mobile applications which we use in our daily lives. Most of these have an inbuilt feature of auto correcting. As a result, people make increased use of these features and develop a habit of it. For instance, a recent survey conducted by the ‘BBC News’ has observed that most of the citizens in North American countries lack basic English skills. Thus, these people don’t have good vocabulary and grammatical range of words. Moreover, spending more time on the mobile devices can pose serious health issues to the young ones. This can impact their eye’s vision. Also, they don’t develop a habit of reading books. In fact, they lack knowledge regarding a wide range of subjects. This, in turn, is not beneficial for their educational development. Therefore, children should be kept in control during their childhood days. To recapitulate, parents should play an integral role in developing the reading and writing skills of their children. It would help them to be successful in the long run.