In many places, new homes are needed, but the only space available for building them is in the countryside. Some people believe it is more important to protect the countryside and not build new homes there. What is your opinion about this?

Many urban area's population is exceeding their capacity, making it inevitable to build new houses in the countryside. In my opinion, this is only justified if governors ensure the least damage to the ecosystem of the area, while at the same time, control the population growth, so less houses will be needed in the future. The overpopulation chiefly occurs where residents can enjoy a quality life or the prices of staple commodities are relatively cheap. Residents of such cities have less to worry about when they decide to get married or bring children. As well as this, young adults tend to move from rural areas to such cities in search for a decent job most of which manage to stay and start a family, contributing to the exceeding population. When the population expands to an extend that the demand for houses exceeds its supply, the housing price skyrockets, leaving governments no choice but to build a set of new apartments in the countryside. This unwelcome development is likely to threaten the ecosystem of the surrounding area. New mass apartments in the countryside entail destroying parts of the nature. The reduction of green areas and trees is most probably tantamount to uncontrollable air pollution. It is as simple as it sounds, more people means more transportation and, therefore, exhaust emits into the air faster than it can be absorbed by green leaves which now there are less of them. The extra population also leads to overexploitation of water resources. Over time this may drain these irreplaceable resources. Hence, careless mass construction in the countryside could bring about devastating consequences. In conclusion, the development of houses in the countryside is merely acceptable when no better choice is available as it damages the ecosystem triggering several problems in the long run. Thus, city governors are expected to anticipate the troublesome population growth, well-ahead, and take measures to effectively manage the situation and not wait until they are forced to destroy natural setting to house their citizens.