In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family?

Our senior people are our blessing because we reach out for them when wisdom is sought and to learn from their life experiences. While it appears that most of the civilized countries develop programs to protect and support them after they get older, the responsibility of securing funds allocated to finance these programs and ensure their sustainability remains debatable between the government and the families of these individuals. In my case, I am in favour of the opinion claiming that the government is the party accountable for allocating budgets for such initiatives for many reasons which are briefed below. The first and most important one which dictates that governments should sponsor the elderly in their last days is gratitude and compensation for their long journey in contributing to their country. Most of them have worked hard through the first five or six decades of their lives and now it is their turn to rest and be serviced delicately. Moreover, all these senior homes will be abiding governmental regulations and laws with respect to quality of living and care needed. Also, these individuals have paid their dues to the system as for their pension and taxation, therefore they should naturally eligible for such secure lifestyle in their fall years. For example, having a clear and visible paths on how all the taxes and pension related expenses will aid in securing such proper life for these persons. Secondly, although countries must secure their senior citizens for their remaining days, each individual's family can contribute to improving their relatives' life experience. Knowing that each father would be paying for his, his spouse's, and his children's pensions, he can also help in supporting and upgrading his parents/grandparents remaining period. Nevertheless, we should not forget that communities are built through contribution and collaboration between its individuals, therefore each family supporter would be contributing based on his capabilities after providing the vital daily expenses, medical support, and his kids' education tuitions. For example, their share might be arranging for a gathering at the location where the grandfather is living in order to make him feel like home with all his family surrounding him and make him feel proud while living among his peers. In conclusion, decent country's officials can formulate different laws and programs in order to ensure the well being of their country's residents through their late ages. These terms will ensure the existence of such finances and preserve the human right to continue to live decently.