Prevention is better than cure – researching and treating diseases is too costly so it would be better to invest in preventative measures. To what extent do you agree?

In the recent years, the amount of investment required in research and treatment of diseases has increased exponentially. Many believe that money should instead be utilized in preventive measures. However, while I believe that preventative actions will be beneficial, I do not agree that spending on researching and treating diseases should be reduced. On the one hand, there are many diseases, for example, diabetes, heart ailments, obesity, which is attributed to life style disorders. The main contributing factors for these diseases are lack of exercise, consumption of fatty and sugary foods and stress. These illnesses can be curbed by preventative measures, for example by limiting the intake of fat and sweet foods, by having a more active lifestyle and practicing yoga and meditation. Government can spread awareness of this by having various programs across cities and conducting free camps on yoga and meditation. On the other hand, there are diseases which cannot be prevented for example, certain types of cancer, liver & kidney ailments to name a few. These require to be treated with various advance surgeries and medications. Moreover, many new types of illness are being discovered every day and hence research on how to treat and cure them is necessary. As per the recent report, countries that have a robust medical research program are better equipped to deal with the needs of ever-changing medical needs of the people. In conclusion, not all diseases can be prevented hence research and treatment needs to continue irrespective of the money involved. In fact, with the growing number of new ailments violent or severe weather (viewed as caused by the action of the four elements) elements discovered, more money is required to be allocated for study and curing them.