In schools and universities, girls tend to choose arts, while boys like science. What are the reasons for this trend and do you think this tendency should be changed? (Problem and Solution)

In schools and universities, girls tend to choose arts, while boys like science. What are the reasons for this trend and do you think this tendency should be changed? (Problem and Solution) It is generally accepted that girls are likely to choose artistry-related subjects, while boys are into science. This essay will illustrate the factors contributing to this phenomenon and the solution to change this tendency. There are several reasons for this trend. Firstly, the stereotypes in a social environment, which is considered to be the main factor of this problem. Specifically, many teenagers rely on these standards to choose their future jobs to fulfil their parent's expectations. For instance, in the past, men were considered suitable for fields requiring logic and technical skills, such as engineering and mathematics, while women were considered more suited for skilful jobs and creativity, such as design or art. Secondly, the family impacts play a significant role in shaping children's decisions. For instance, from an early age, boys are given toys related to science and engineering, on the other hand, girls are given dolls or fashion-related toys. Consequently, children's potential abilities become confined to a particular skill. However, I believe that this tendency should be altered to minimize inequality in social and future opportunities. All individuals, regardless of gender, should have the same opportunity to pursue their dreams. For example, many girls are interested in science-related problems, while boys are into drawing and designing, and they are free to choose what they like without any judgments or stereotypes. Furthermore, parents should be open-minded to accept their children's careers. Eliminating conservatories, allowing children to decide their paths, and encouraging them to trust their dreams result in a better society. To sum up, social stereotypes and family impacts result in the pattern of choosing subject fields. These contributions lead to several problems related to inequality, and limiting individual talents. I strongly believe this tendency should be changed to create a fair opportunity and a better society.