It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Punishing children physically in order to teach them what is right and what is wrong is considered a necessity by many people. Although this might sound reasonable, I strongly disagree because it creates fear and builds up negative attributes in their mindsets. Understandably, those that support corporal punishment feel that it serves as an immediate deterrent to children’s misconduct. If a child is flogged for stealing, for example, he or she is unlikely to commit such crime again. Because of this, they say this style is required to correct a child from going astray. However, I would argue that this form of correction causes more harm than good to children. These youngsters tend to develop a lack of confidence due to fear that results from spanking, which makes it difficult for them to interact with their peers. Recent research conducted in France revealed a positive correlation between personality disorder and physical correction. Therefore, this approach can have negative consequences when they become adults. Furthermore, beating a child to symbolize wrongdoing appears to send a wrong signal that, it is acceptable to beat a fellow human being. They might carry this feeling in their primitive minds in to expresses motion to a point on, or within, something into their adulthood. A particularly good illustration is Canada, where parents raised from abusive homes turn to violent people, inflicting injuries on their families. As a result, a vicious cycle of a violent world is created, which could potentially lead to loss of lives and disabilities. In conclusion, I totally disagree that physically beating a child is the ideal way to bring them up owing to the fact that it leads to low self-esteem and it connotes a dangerous mentality. It is my hope that parents and teachers would embrace other alternatives to achieve this aim.