It is universally accepted that eating too much sugar has a negative effect on people’s health. Therefore, some believe that the government should control the amount of sugar people consume. Others think that it is the responsibility of an individual to monitor their sugar intake. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is a fact that high intake of sugar has detrimental impacts on people around the world. Whilst many think that the government must have control over people regarding sugar consumption, I believe that it is the duty of a person to impose proper control on the level of sugar they consume in their diet. To begin with the first point of view, it is true that governments across various countries have the power and authority to impose control on the sugar levels which people consume, and they have ways to do that. First of all, they can levy heavy taxes on the foods and drinks which contain high amounts of sugar, for example, sugary beverages like canned juice and fizzy drinks, as this would stop people from buying them frequently. Secondly, governments can also run awareness campaigns in different cities to aware their residents about the devastating effects sugar has on the health of an individual, for instance, diabetes and obesity that might become fatal sometimes. On the contrary, I support the latter argument, and I would say that controlling the intake of sugar is not a mere responsibility of the government; however, it is the onus of a person as well. People in order to stay healthy must control their intake of sugar products as this does not only aid them to stay fit but also saves their future generations as well because diabetes mostly becomes a heredity disease. Moreover, these days there are so many applications on mobile phones through which humans can track their calories and the amount of sugar they consume, for example, the health and fitness apps on iPhone. In conclusion, although governments can monitor and control the level of sugar by running awareness campaigns or by making sugary items expensive with tax, I am still convinced that it is in the hands of people to track their sugar intake if they want to save themselves from the ill effects like obesity.