Some people think that environmental problems should be solved on a global scale while others believe it is better to deal with them nationally. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is considered by some that key to resolve environmental issues is at domestic level, while there are others who think that this issue can be solved globally. In my opinion, I believe that solution for some problems can be found domestically while other environmental problems need to be dealt at global level. On the one hand, there are many problems that are localized, for example, river water pollution, gas emissions and improper waste segregation. Local governments are better equipped to deal with these issues. The government of each country is responsible for educating their own people about the importance of keeping the environment clean and recycling. Apart from government, local residents need to take responsibility for their actions. Better public transport policies aiming to help reduce gas emissions must be implemented domestically. On the other hand, global warming affects all the countries and a joint effort to tackle it is required. Developing countries are more responsible for global warming than other countries. Each country is responsible is responsible in limiting the greenhouse gas emissions, for example, these limits should be agreed and monitored by central international agencies. Not all countries are financially capable of tackling environmental problems due to the cost involved. Hence, richer countries should contribute and help other countries. Some type of pollutions affects all countries, for example, air and marine pollution. Unless, all countries agree and implement strict environmental policies, environmental problems will keep growing. To conclude, in my opinion, whether environmental problems can be solved at domestic or global level depends on the type of issue. Domestic issues like waste recycling, river water pollution to name a few can be looked after by national government and its residents. While, bigger issues like global warming, require a joint effort from all the countries and requires monitoring by a central agency.