The restoration of old buildings in major cities around the world costs enormous amounts of money. This money would be better spent on providing new housing and road development. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that renovating ancient buildings in major cities worldwide can cost a huge amount of money and that investing in the construction of new houses and developing roads would be more beneficial. This essay completely agrees with this statement because newly built homes can provide housing for city residents, and improved roads can facilitate goods transportation. Firstly, one of the main reasons I support investments in housing is that it can provide shelter for many people in the city. Every person in the city needs a home to live in, and the money spent on renovations could be better utilized in constructing new homes. A good illustration of this is Dubai, which had many old structures. By constructing new apartments, the city was able to provide homes for its citizens. Secondly, another reason for my agreement is that good road transportation helps the export and import industries of cities. The goods industry is a significant part of economic growth, and having good means of transport facilitates the efficient supply and import of goods, thereby boosting the economic value of the city. For example, in India, imports and exports between cities increased by 30% after the construction and restoration of highways. To sum up, it is clear from the points addressed that it is better to construct new homes and improve road transportation than to repair damaged buildings. These investments can enhance housing availability in the city and improve the transportation of goods.