The internet has transformed the way information is shared and consumed, but it has also created problems that did not exist before. What are the most serious problems associated with the internet and what solutions can you suggest?

The World Wide Web has revolutionized the way people exchange and use information. Although many benefits are drawn from the use of internet, it has brought some serious concerns as well. One such problem is the exposure of children to inappropriate media and a possible solution would be the government intervention in censoring such content. To begin with, one of the major drawbacks associated with the World Wide Web is that, it is an unregulated platform, where anyone, regardless of age, can access a multitude of sensitive or inappropriate media. This poses a threat, especially to vulnerable groups such as children, as they can be exposed to images and videos of violent activities and adult content. This is largely detrimental to the psychological development of children. For instance, a medical research conducted in the UK found that, a vast majority of adults having psychological disorders had been overly exposed to adult media during their childhood. One possible way to tackle this problem would be to implement strict censoring on the information that are being accessed by children via the World Wide Web. In other words, the government ought to make proper policies on censorship, and impose strict rules and regulations on service providers with fines for non-compliance. To illustrate, in 2015, the British government implemented tough rules on internet providers, requiring them to block the appearance of adverts of adultery movies on teen channels. This could drastically bring down the number of children, who were addicted in watching such movies. To conclude, although it is undeniable that the internet brings numerous advantages in information accessing, it also affects adversely for children, who are exposed to content that is not appropriate for them. However, this can be mitigated by the extensive governmental intervention in monitoring.