In general, people do not have such a close relationship with their neighbours as they did in the past. Why is this so, and what can be done to improve contact between neighbours?

Nowadays it is common that the local dwellers barely know each other. I believe, that this is a strenuous problem that affects people's relationships and measures should be taken to solve it. First and foremost, there are a number of reasons why this issue occurred. One of them is that the society got used to changing the accommodation and not settling down. Therefore, the neighbours do not possess enough time to befriend each other. Moreover, people living in urban areas usually spend more time at work than at home. This results in relationship development between the colleagues rather than people living nearby. For example, according to a survey done by 'The Guardian' more than three quarters of white-collar workers in New York spent their Christmas eve with colleagues, and less than a quarter of them invited neighbours to their party or dinner. Secondly, there are ways to tackle this problem, however, they need the support of the government. The local authorities should arrange financial support for the communal areas in various neighbourhoods. For example, the provision of playgrounds, picnic areas, and footpaths would contribute towards better communication between the locals. Furthermore, a century ago, there was a tradition to greet the new dwellers with homemade pie or something to decorate their brand new house. The media could take action to encourage and revive this old custom. In conclusion, the communication between the locals became poorer in recent years, due to the fact that they are able to change their living places often. In my opinion, there is hope to restore the communication between the neighbours although the chances are low