Some people think that government funding should not be used for supporting Art & culture, while others think that supporting cultural activities may be beneficial for the population and the culture. Discuss both views and give your own openion.

It is often argued that the government should not spend on organizing art and cultural events, whilst others disagree and opine that spreading awareness of the art and culture of the nation is indeed very important for the country and its people. This essay agrees that art and culture are unique identities of the nation and the government must allocate some funds to preserve them. To commence with, art and culture represent the country in the whole world, and the global reputation of any nation is determined by its rich culture. For example, India is well known for its culture of unity in diversity, hence, most countries believe that India is open in terms of accepting new ideas. Furthermore, the global image of any country is a very significant factor in terms of maintaining relations with other countries. For instance, it is very easy for Middle Eastern countries to establish good relations with each other as they have similar cultures. On the other hand, some individuals opine that spending people’s money on organizing art and cultural events has no direct benefits, and the government should spend more on the development of education, the health sector and other pressing problems. Although investing government funds in the education and health sector is necessary, spending to preserve the rich culture of the nation should not be avoided because spending on them not only unites the citizens, but also affects the global reputation of the country. To sum up, arts and culture are significant factors in terms of maintaining geopolitical image and relations with other countries, and they should be given importance when deciding where the government should allocate its resources.