Food travels thousands of miles from farm to consumers. Some people believe we should buy food from the local farmer to protect the environment and support local businesses. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

The export and the import have become a heated topic of controversy. Most of the foods such as spices, vegetables, coconut related foods are travelling across the world to satisfy the consumer demand. Some people argue that if users purchase food from their local farmers, it will lead to support the increase of the local market and protecting the environment by reducing the percentage of pollution. I agree with this view to a certain extent. In my opinion, purchasing food from local farmers is certainly a better way to increase local market and save nature. In the meantime, that could be the main reason for having fewer choices in food and the cut down the main income of the country. First, it must be admitted that the export and import business is considered as an important category which helps to gain more money for the county in most of the developing countries. By encouraging the fact that purchasing food only from local farmers can be a direct impact for the financial state of the country as the farmers and the other third party local vendors could not be able to sell the food to exact global rate to regional people. Also from the consumer point of view, it will cause to reduce people’s food choices. For instance, nowadays the markets have different kinds of food which are coming from different countries. Because of that, people would be able to experience them instead of being there. On the other hand, being supportive for local farmers by buying their food regularly will give them a hope that their business can be grown into another level same as delivering their products to other countries. Not only that, they will be able to help to reduce global warming and some of the environmental pollution that happens while transporting food such as noise, transport, fuel, and air. The most important fact is people get a chance to eat healthy products which do not contain any chemicals in it. For instance, all the imported food products contain many chemicals to keep fresh until the expiry date. To conclude, if people give preference to the local produce, it will certainly benefit their health, the environment and the local employment.But at the same time, it will affect the people’s food choices and economy of the country. Therefore, I believe, people can save the environment and increase the local business by limiting the export and import category into a considerable level.