It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

There is no doubt that many people nowadays plan to take a gap year after graduating from high school to achieve their goals. While it is a commonly held belief that some students prefer to take a rest year before entering university, there is also an argument that opposes this. This essay will analyse this topic from both points of view and express my opinion. On the one hand, after graduating from school, many individuals write special plans for achieving success in their lives. Moreover, some of these plans may take a long time to complete. For example, learning the English language for non-English speakers. Recent research indicates that learning the English language takes one and a half years, on average. In addition, many families encourage their children to take this gap year to develop their education and explore their own skills. On the other hand, a number of students prefer to continue their education immediately after school. These students fear that interrupting their education will weaken their thinking skills and cause them to lose a full year of their lives. It is also possible to say that these people enjoy a full and usual education and make a successful life earlier. In conclusion, there are no easy answers to this question. On balance, however, I tend to believe that this kind of decision requires careful consideration and taking full responsibility to arrive at a suitable path. It is also true that completing education years without gap years is very important for maintaining our communication and thinking skills. Also, we did not have many responsibilities in our lives, and, as a result, we had a huge amount of time to focus on our education.