"According to those in the travel business, the nature of the average 'holiday' is changing. Rather than seeking a relaxing break in a far-away place, people now want excitement on their holidays and are keen to participate in unusual and challenging activities. Do you agree or disagree?"

Some professionals in the travel industry argue that, in the past, a typical holiday would more likely be centered around quiet rest and relaxation, whereas now, an increasing portion of people prefer to organize their vacations around thrilling activities. Whilst it may be true that some prefer this kind of holiday, it cannot be denied that most people prefer to utilize their vacation time to relax and recover, and do not prefer to take safety risks during their holidays. Firstly, most people nowadays spend a majority of their waking hours at work. And, because of the compulsory nature of work, it is expected that, regardless of one's profession, a level of fatigue would cumulate with time. As a result of this, now and in the past, people have preferred to use their vacation time to rest and re-energize. For instance, people who work in some of the largest industries, like construction and manufacturing, often complain about how tiring their work is, and how much they look forward to their holidays so they can get their energy back. Considering this, it is clear that the same reasons that have made people utilize their holidays for recovery still stand in today's world. Furthermore, a majority of people are put off by these events and excursions due to the fact that many vacation activities that would be considered thrilling involve certain health and safety risks. Even the most popular of these, like skydiving and bungee, could result in catastrophy if several precautions are not taken properly by the proprietors. For example, regardless of the holiday destination, even a brief research on the Google reviews of some of the biggest excursion providers in the region uncovers disasterous incidents that one would be oblivious to without looking at online reviews. Therefore, due to these very apparent risks, most people still prefer to keep such items out of their itineraries. In conclusion, the big role in recovery that holidays play, along with the risky nature of the aforementioned activities, it is evident that most people still opt for the same kind of holiday as they have done in the past. Hence, there seems no reason to see a significant shift towards the contrary.