Popular events like the football world cup and other international sporting occasions are essential in easing international tensions and releasing patriotic emotions in a safe way. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Soccer world cup and events like the Olympics, unite the nations at least temporarily as long as people take the defeat in true sports man spirit and enjoy winning in a responsible fashion. Will patriotism pave way to violence in any circumstances on these occasions? On the one side, organising any international sporting event is a proud moment for any country. If conducted in a proper manner, benefits will be of many folds. Primarily, as the country wants to present itself internationally to create a grand impression, people naturally will be united in achieving this target by being a hospitable host. Secondly, it automatically creates opportunity for infrastructure development and along with it lot of job opportunities will be created and taking into consideration the number of visitors or tourists coming from abroad, the country can expect an economic boom through tourism aspect also. Eventually, if properly sustained, this can have an everlasting effect and people will remember this event as a product of their combined effort raising patriotism to a higher order. On the other hand, hooliganism or any other kind of violence is enough to turn the table to a reverse order. Atmosphere can be highly volatile, if two nations with not so good political or economic relationship meet in a crucial world cup match. Patriotic emotions can run extremely high because of a wrong decision or as a result of an emotional action by the players in these kinds of matches, otherwise considered silly. A classic example was the 1970 FIFA world cup qualifier match between Honduras and El Salvador which resulted in rioting and consequently ended in a war between these two African nations. The incidence of these kind were reported from many football fields as well as Olympic arenas. To summarize, I agree with the fact that to a large extend this kind of global events helps to ease tensions between countries particularly neighbours and enhance positive patriotic emotions. But, if emotions go out of hand, though rare, can result in an unwarranted violent situation.