Chevening is looking for individuals who will be future leaders or influencers in their home countries. Explain how you meet this requirement, using clear examples of your own leadership and influencing skills to support your answer.

The best sentence in my professional career is “from Zero to Hero”. My first challenge from the company was to lead a team in a rural area that I had never visited before. Through this journey, as Head of Representative Office or Hero, I have learned about true leadership that faces any risk and inspires others to grow together for common goals. It comes from my zero experience in the telecommunication industry, however, I developed myself to become a good Hero for developing my area during my professional career. I have managed three different rural areas in the South of Kalimantan with limited resources which are five sales officers and 20 technicians. The challenge is to achieve sales, infrastructure, and finance targets. As Hero Kandangan, I must face that obstacle, lead my team, and maximize the resources to achieve the target. First of all, I should learn about the culture of the community in my area which gave me insight into how I can communicate with others. Improved relationships with the team through joint activities such as morning briefing, ceremony, and other activities. And then conducted demand surveys for the network deployment plan. I have innovated for sales improvement through social media and online communities so that even though I have a small number of sales officers, I can reach all areas. As a result, it increased sales by 5.5% each month from online marketing. Moreover, my area achieved sales, infrastructure, and finance targets set by the company and I got the best Head of Representative Office in Q2 2020 from my office. On the other hand, there are other challenges to the cost-efficiency program from my company to the business sustainability. In this current condition, my role as leader of the maintenance division has to manage a limited budget efficiently but still prioritize customer experience. The activities I did were conducting an initial assessment of each program and evaluating the impact that will be carried out. Next, I hold a meeting with the team to discuss the planning that will be implemented based on the results of the initial evaluation. Then, I controlled the execution of the work in the field. Finally, the final evaluation was to assess the work ensure that the customer network is running well, and make lessons learned regarding budget efficiency. Through this program, it resulted in 10% cost savings every month and the unit that I manage received the Best Access Operation and Maintenance of Telkom Regional Kalimantan in Q2 2023 from my office. In conclusion, a leader must be able to provide rational solutions in the midst of limited resources and encourage the team to achieve common goals. This experience has made me a future leader in developing my area through telecommunication networks, with the support from Chevening, I hope it will increase my potential to be a great leader and make a greater impact through my studies.