In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centres or malls to do their shopping. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, shopping has become an increasingly popular activity among people due to the opening of a much large shopping mall. Thus, most of the retail shops are being closed. However, I strongly agree that it is a negative development due to two reasons. One concern in terms of shutting down the local shops is a lack of competition between shopping centres and small vendors. Although I concede that big retailers impart huge discount to their customers, it will not be possible if such small retailers are not there in the market. For instance, if such small shops will close for a lifetime, it tends to allow malls to take advantage of monopoly, which will result in people do not get any discounts, so consumers have to pay a higher price for that product irrespective of that cost. The slowdown of economic progress is another area of concern. Although I admit that large shopping mall also provides employment opportunities for the majority of people in different departments, I would argue that introducing new malls undoubtedly ruin the employment of retail shops. As for many retailers, their small business is the main source of income and livelihood, so opening big centres have a deleterious impact not only on the small business which a person has been run for generations, but also their family survival and education of children. As a result, such unemployment contributes to the slowdown country's economy, which is inevitable. To sum up, not only do opening new malls enables people to pay a higher price for the product, but also it reduces the economic progress of the country. Therefore, I strongly believe closing down of small shops have a negative effect on our society.