In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is a fundamental right of a human being to make decisions about his life. Nowadays, our governments tend to interfere in our daily lives more than ever before. We are not even free to choose what we eat and drink. Since some people choose unhealthy foods, some individuals argue that government should impose higher taxes on foods that are not good for health. I strongly believe that it is a fundamental right of human beings to choose what they want to eat. It is a proven fact, that fast foods are one of the causes of cardiovascular diseases in many countries. The high amount of fats and carbohydrates increases the cholesterol level in the blood, which can lead to obesity, heart attack and high blood pressure. When it comes to the solution, some people would argue that, implementation of higher taxes on fast food might solve the problem. What about the people who like fast food and they have no disease at all? To protect some people, we cannot take away a privilege from a large group of people. On the other hand, instead of imposing higher taxes on food, government should provide more money to the health care system, so people can be treated well. Having said that, it is also a fundamental right of a person to decide about his or her health. In today's world, there is enough awareness about the healthy and unhealthy foods. Some people want to enjoy their choice of food, even if they are sick, and it is their right. Government should not implement higher taxes on people’s choices. On the other hand, we are not sure to what extent junk foods are the cause of multiple diseases. In the name of health issue, the government should not attack on people’s rights. In conclusion, fast food is a cause of some diseases, but all the people who eat fatty foods are not sick. It is also a right of a person to choose what they want to eat. So, government should not impose taxes on what people want to eat.