Some people think that the best way to reduce time spent in travelling to work is to replace parks and gardens close to the city centre with apartment buildings for commuters, but others disagree.Discuss both views and give your own opinion .

Those who have long distances to travel to offices and schools may well believe that if apartment blocks built near to commercial and business hubs would greatly reduce both time and stress. There are though those who favour that central areas should remain surrounded by green areas. My opinion leans strongly with those who hold the latter view. Placing apartment buildings near the centre is surely convenient for the commuter. Also, they do not need to take subways or walk far. However, if there are too many apartments near the city centre, then those in the middle will face problems, such as traffic jams during rush hours, which result in creating lengthy delays. Therefore, it could easily prove hardly the best way to reduce the time spent in travelling. Conversely, viewing this from the perspective of replacing parks and gardens with high-rises means workers will have no places to relax, and the environment deteriorates and in turn for those who work there suffer a detrimental effect on their productivity. Besides, compared with apartments, centrally placed pleasant open spaces creates positive effects on the city’s environment and attitude on those whose employment is situated. In summary, replacing gardens and parks with apartments is not the best method to save people’s time travelling to work. Such an idea may have a negative effect and harm the city’s environment, those who work in central areas of the city being subject to traffic jams that increase time wasting rather than reducing it.