It is observed that in many countries not enough students are choosing to study science as a subject. What are the causes? And what will be the effects on society?

It is true that in several nations learners are not opting to study science as a curriculum. This essay will discuss the main reasons behind this scenario and explain its negative effects on society. On the one hand, there are several reasons why students are turning away from science. Firstly, the lack of career prospects and competition is discouraging them from choosing other subjects. When students participate in any competitive exam to get entrance or lack job opportunities, they switch their careers to study the humanities and social sciences. For example, in India, where the competition is high and employment chances are scarce, people are ultimately turning their careers to other fields. Apart from this, the availability of a wider range of subjects including international curriculums, compels them towards choosing the subjects of their own choice. Consequently, few people are choosing to study science in college or university. Furthermore, this phenomenon has a negative effect on society. There would be a shortage of workforce in the fields of medicine, science and technology. Consequently, when there are fewer workers, there will be less research and innovations in those particular areas, which is mandatory in the medical field to get cures for severe diseases. For example, if there is a shortage of workers, the community cannot find effective treatment for diseases such as Cancer, which is more prevalent these days. Hence, there is a wide spread of diseases and society will definitely suffer from it. In conclusion, the decline in choosing science as a subject is the result of career limitations and wider opportunities to study other subjects. The shortage of labour force and limited innovations will bring negative impacts on society.