Some universities deduct marks from students' works if given in late, what are your views and what action will you recommend to take?

This essay is about student assignments and late submission. Nowadays, whether universities should deduct marks or not has attracted numerous controversies. Some people believe that if students fail to submit their assignments on time, the university should deduct their marks, while others are in favour of the fact that some people may have some difficulties and several reasons to accomplish their tasks under deadline. As far as I am concerned, schools should set up straight forward and strict rules for a significant section. It is paramount for students completing their work under deadline with full dedication and responsibility. Furthermore, it's totally in the hands of students unless they are unable to meet the deadline due to personal reasons or natural disaster. For example, if any student is busy in a job, it will be a difficult situation for them to manage timelines. Moreover, students should consider their work as valuable rather than giving lame excuses or false statements. On the other hand, some people may argue that in certain situations they are not able to finish the assignment. First and foremost, school and universities should permit extra time for students, who suffer from illness and family problems. Consequently, can have dire outcomes, when they are involved in accidents, unhealthy or suffering medical condition. Also, universities should help students by informing on time through the call or email instead of immediate deduction. Universities should be flexible and not deduct marks. In conclusion, I am more inclined with the idea that those universities should deduct marks on late submission, even though they should be flexible for special cases.