Discuss both sides and give your opinion - some people think that paying tax is their only duty, while others believe that we have more responsibilities towards our society

It is believed by some that the only obligation they have to their community is tax remittance, while others are of the opinion that they have various other roles to play. I am of the viewpoint that we have more to offer than just paying our tax returns. On the one hand, it is thought by some individuals that after remitting their allocated taxes, the community should not expect any more from them.They believe so because the Government imposes taxations on them, which amounts to a gigantic proportion of their finances. Therefore, after fulfilling that, no more should be expected of them. For example Kwara State in Nigeria has the highest tax rate, which is used for the provision of good roads, and clean source of drinking water for its citizens. On the other hand, other people believe they have civic duties beyond just paying taxes, and I agree. It is believed so due to the fact that it has been found that even in regions where taxes are diligently paid, the states still cannot fund the whole sectors effectively. Therefore, requiring private and corporate interventions. For instance, in Nigeria, the money allocated to health has always fallen short of catering for the citizens requiring medical needs, hereby philanthropic donations have always been sought from well meaning donors. This indicates that despite the dues to the Government, they still have obligations they owe to the society. In conclusion, despite varying opinions on whether our lone societal duty is paying taxes, I am of the stance that we could do more for our environment than just that.