Wealthy countries should accept more refugees and provide them with basic assistance, such as food and housing. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Affluent nations should open their doors to refugees and give them a place to stay and food to eat. This essay strongly agrees with that opinion and believes that developed countries should allow refugees to enter their homeland because it is the right thing to do. This essay will first discuss how rich nations should not turn refugees away, on the basis of humanitarian grounds, followed by a reasoned conclusion. Developed countries should permit refugees to enter their homeland because it is their moral prerogative. It is the duty of powerful countries to help the weaker ones in times of need. They shouldn't let the poor and innocent suffer when they are facing a crisis back at home. For example, the USA has shown humanity and welcomed millions of Syrian refugees who are fleeing from their country because of war. However, there is an unpopular opinion that wealthy nations shouldn't let refugees enter their country because they might use up its resources. This is ridiculous in the sense that there is always plenty to give. If resources are allocated wisely then there is no cause of worry and refugees can be provided with the basic support that they need to live. To illustrate, Canada has successfully helped in resettling over half a million refugees in the years 2018 and 2019 alone without facing a deficit in their resources. In conclusion, rich countries should welcome refugees and provide them with basic aid because it is their moral obligation and this does not in any way deplete a country's resources.