More and more people no longer read newspapers or watch TV programs for news. They get news about the world through the Internet. Is this a positive or negative development?

The ubiquity of technology is undeniable and has permeated our daily lives. It has sparked heated controversies that many people claiming that reading or watching TV programs for news through the Internet brings negative impacts. I totally disagree with that viewpoint. Admittedly, it is true that technological devices have a detrimental part which we have to consider. First, technological screens have a tendency to lead to low vision and eye diseases such as myopia and red eyes,... As a matter of fact, nowadays kids are addicted to digital devices which found that they have got the proportion of Myopia higher than in the past. Therefore, if we spend the whole day using digital devices, we can get long-term health issues. Second, reading may be affected by technological platforms which we can get distracted by effects on screens. In fact, we can summarize and remember information more quickly on paper, and our reading ability on paper is better than on screen. As a consequence, students are encouraged to use paper to read instead of laptops or smartphones. However, setting aside the negative impacts, technology also brings us various merit points. Reading and watching through the Internet gateway has a positive impact since we can get informative news easily. In other words, internet-based newsagents are more accessible and convenient compared to ordinary paper -based types. Besides, burning old papers which we do not use releases pollutants into the air. Burning paper releases toxic chemicals, like acid rain, directly into the environment. The paper contains a bunch of chemicals, also chlorine which cause long-term health problems if we burn and inhale it. Consequently, print newspapers are wasteful and not eco-friendly. In conclusion, with a vast array of news sources on the Internet, we can connect information with high speed and accuracy.To my mind, such a shift is completely beneficial as online sources are less time-consuming and more cost-effective. I am of the opinion that internet-based information is versatile for our daily lives.