Overpopulation of urban areas has led to numerous problems. Identify one or two serious ones and suggest ways that governments and individuals can tackle these problems.250

The increase in urban population is one of the most carefully examined areas of our times, which has given birth to various issues faced by us today. This essay begins by exploring the major concern caused by this phenomenon and then submits a viable solution. One of the major issues in terms of increased human growth in cities, is scarcity of natural resources. Put simply, cities allocate resources to meet the demands of their inhabitants based on a set plan prior to their development--resources, including: water, electricity and gasoline are set aside to meet the demands of a limited number of population. With increase in population, the resources become inadequate to meet the demands of an ever growing population. Consequently, urban dwellers suffer due to unavailability of required resources. A major city of Africa, Congo, is a prime example where people are suffering due to shortage of water caused by overpopulation. To tackle this problem government should introduce measures to forecast the maximum capacity of any area to inhabit human population based on available resources. A separate department should be established for documenting and updating current population of any area and strict policies should be in place to ensure that human migration in any area does not exceed its predefined capacity. Moreover, rural areas should be developed to reduce human population growth in urban areas. For instance, Canada has initiated many programs to encourage population growth in rural areas. Such measures will help in retaining the required amount of resources for the city dwellers and would promote an optimal living environment. To conclude, excessive growth in cities is one of the foremost challenges we face and will ultimately deprive cities of its natural resources, but a possible solution is to introduce strict measures to keep the growth within a limited threshold level in cities. It is predicted that the trend of migration to urban areas will increase manifold, however an informed decision of limiting this shift can save humankind from sufferings.