Some people say that it is possible to tell a lot about a person’s culture and character from their choice of clothes. Do you agree or disagree?

Clothes are important accessories of human beings and some people have the opinion that they can identify a person's tradition or behaviour by the way they clothe themselves. I think this is true to some extent, but that is not always the case as I will support my view with valid arguments and examples. One one hand, the way some people dress may not give a true reflection of their culture or even one's behaviour. For instance, working environments such as banks require their staff members to dress formally in suits, a pair of trousers and office shoes. In as much as this dressing style was adopted from Western culture, it does not portray the traditional background of many people in Africa and Asia. On the other hand, it may be possible to predict a person's tradition and character through their choice of dressing. For instance, during my education and time spent living in the United Kingdom, I was able to identify other Nigerians by their outfits. In addition, people who dedicate their lives to living in the monastery and serving their deities can be easily identified by their style of dressing. For example, a Buddhist monk or a catholic priest is usually clothed in a tunic that reflect their choice of life and background. To conclude, predicting a person's behavioural pattern or ethnicity from the way they dress can be subjective depending on what the situation may be. Provided that some people can suggest one's lifestyle based on the outfit they wear, people should not always make assertive conclusions about this as the case may differ. An individual's outfit may not always tell their story or that of their ancestors.