In the past, most people spend their entire career working for one company, whereas people nowadays move from one job to another. What are the advantages and disadvantages of each? Which do you think is better?

In those days, most people used to work their whole career in the same company. These days, employees change several times of jobs in their lives. Although working a whole life in the same work has benefits, I believe moving from one job to another outweighs the disadvantages, such as retraining to another job to have many different professional experiences and relocate somewhere else. In the past, people used to work their whole lives in the same company, which brought them stability and a chance to be promoted. For example, my grandfather started to work in a company at the age of 20 as an accountant, and was promoted twice, which allowed him to become a head accountant. Nevertheless, people used to be stuck in the same job and the same location their entire lives, which could be a problem if they felt bad in their job's environment. As an aside, if the job didn't suit them, they had to endure this situation their whole career long. Changing jobs several times, however, can be an opportunity to have many different professional experiences and relocate to somewhere else. These days, people are moving more often thanks to new technology, which allows them to stay connected with their family and friends. They also want to retrain themselves to another job in order to change their way of life. For instance, since the Covid crisis, a large number of people have wanted to quit their white-collar jobs to relocate to the countryside to become farmers. The drawbacks, however, are a lack of personal and professional stability, which can lead to feelings of failure and loneliness. As a result, some of these retrained workers, recently renounced and returned to their hometowns and previous work. In conclusion, whilst having the same work our whole careers has many benefits, I believe the advantages of changing jobs several times in a lifetime outweigh the disadvantages.