Some people argue that arts, such as paintings and music, are a waste of money and the government should spend this money on other public services. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Undoubtedly art has been an inherent part of the society throughout centuries. For example, visiting museums around the world is one of the ways to experience paintings, sculptures and books dated from hundreds of years ago. The Roman Empire, for example, is famous for their sculptures currently known as Classical Roman Art. Although, a large part of the population sees art as an important aspect of life, others argue that the investment does not bring worthy benefits and should be redirected to more significant areas like education and public health. I strongly disagree to this affirmation because of the following reasons. Currently art has been used not just as an entertainment, but it is present in several areas of science and social studies as an instrument to work. Taking Psychology as an example, one of its fields is called Art Therapy, whereby music, painting, acting, among other techniques is used with individuals in vulnerable circumstances to treat traumas and issues. Furthermore, art is presented also in hospitals as a method to support treatment of children, from simple cartoons to small plays, patients have demonstrated increases in their condition such as better mood, motivation and even in healthy aspect. Additionally, some countries apply art as a strategy against criminality. In Brazil many communities have created groups of music and dance to prevent adolescents participating in illegal activities. Some researchers have shown a very positive response to these methods. Nonetheless, other public services are as well as essential, for example good education can improve people’s skills and therefore contribute to countries’ development. To conclude, from the aforementioned reasons, I believe that investment in art is very important to increase life quality and improvement in society, thus, the government should continue to invest in projects in its direction without overlooking other areas in need.