Some people believe that technology has made man more social and others think it has made him less social. Discuss both the views and give your opinion.

In this expeditiously transforming technological era, man, the social anima, has covered himself in a shell. Some people propound that technology has brought people closer. Whereas, others believe that the level of interaction and the depth of emotion have mitigated because of it. I will discuss both the views diligently and give my opinion from a bird's-eye stance. Accentuating the supporting side, I reckon that that long distance interaction and communication were never so convenient, like they are today. As a result, we are always connected to our loved ones, who are miles away. To illustrate, international calls, which used to cost an arm and a leg earlier, are now easy as pie because of internet calling platforms like WhatsApp and Skype. Social media, on the other hand, plays an eminent role in connecting our long-lost acquaintance and making the world smaller. Although conversations might be short, but we know what’s happening in our friend’s life, sitting thousand miles away. To embark on the compelling outlook, I believe that nowadays people have become more self-involved and are just allured by the glory on the other side of their phone screens as they spend maximum time of the day exploring their devices. Propounding the contemporary trend, a person might have 1000 friends on Facebook, but won’t even interact with 100 on a regular basis. Technology has indeed brought people closer, but has also inculcated the ill- habit of sticking to mobile phones or laptops, sidelining the paramount importance of going out and meeting people. To substantiate further, today, people, especially the younger generation prefer to stay at home and watch a series on Netflix than going to a public gathering. To summarize the whole argument, I consider that social life of today’s human has deteriorated. Members of the same family might be sitting in the same room, but they are more fascinated by the illusion of social media and technology rather than showing interest in each other’s life. This advancement might have brought people closer on a platform, but have reduced the feeling of empathy. Hence, it can be stated that human has become less social.