Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than work for a company or organization. Why might this be the case? What could be disadvantages of being self-employed?

In the contemporary times, an increasing number of people prefer to work for themselves instead of working for any firm because of potential income and lifestyle that self-employment provides. Though, self-employed people find significant benefits of working independently, other masses often see more advantages in working in an organization. This essay will shed light on reasons why people choose to be self-employed along with its drawbacks which workers can have. The primary reasons for self-employment can be creative thoughts and capability to work independently without supervision. Several talented people want to implement their brilliant ideas for their business and gain revenues. Moreover, they don’t have to wait for appraisals and promotions along with earning greater than those who employed in any company. In addition to these, as they are not monitored by any manager, they are liberated to choose their working hours, holidays and other plans. Therefore, a numerous people work as freelancers or embarked their startups. Despite the above assertions, there are few risks in self-employment which cannot be ignored. From a financial perspective, while working for someone, one will get a certain salary every month without any delay. Furthermore, companies provide several perks to their full-time employees such as medical insurance, paid leave, sick leaves, and pension schemes, which are not available for the self-employed. Others factor can be mental health, as working for themselves can cause stress and anxiety. For instance, a research shows that self-employed people have a higher level of stress than those who work as full-time and find difficulty in maintaining their work life. To conclude, although more and more people are becoming freelancers to choose work flexibility and other benefits. On the flip-side, these people will not have occupation guarantee and income security in long terms. Also, can face financial difficulties during hard times.