Some people feel that paparazzi should not follow celebrities and invade their privacy by taking pictures of them everywhere, while others believe this is just the price of fame. Discuss both sides and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer, and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

As one achieves 'celebrity' status with continued growth in popularity, they can be sure to find themselves bombarded by crowds and cameras. The fan base that they garner include many who are fascinated by the lifestyles of the famous, which are typically much more lavish than the average commoner. However, in today's society, there is a greater emphasis being placed on the need to respect people's privacy, including that of celebrities. I strongly believe that it is not fair for starlets to give up their private lives upon achieving fame. For example, celebrities, particularly women, are now being scrutinized for not wearing make-up whilst grocery shopping based on the photos captured by the paparazzi. Furthermore, the incessant obsession that the paparazzi has towards famous people can damage livelihoods. Not only does it invade the privacy of the individuals themselves, but also that of their friends and family. On the other hand, the paparazzi has been following around celebrities to provide footage that pleases their fans for many decades. Therefore, a talented individual who chooses to enter the limelight is aware that as they rise to stardom, they will face the consequences of being followed around. One can argue that they consciously accept that their personal life will be broadcasted. In conclusion, whilst celebrities usually rise to fame due to a unique talent that is enjoyed by the masses, it is unfair to infringe on the goings on of their personal lives and deem that to be the price of fame. A compromise can be achieved by celebrities not being snubbed in private places, such as their own homes.