Some people believe that reading stories from e book is better than watching TV or playing computer games for children. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

While some people believe it is better for children to read stories on a computer, others are of the opinion that viewing programs on television or participating in an online games are the best for children. From an individual perspective, I completely agree that reading online is the perfect choice for children. This essay will discuss various reasons why it is considered to be so. On the one hand, the major benefit associated with online games and watching television programs is the ability to cure boredom. This is because, when children engage in either of the two, it keeps them busy and also enable them to while away their time while doing something interesting. For example, children can play candy crush as long as they want without getting fed up of it. As a result, parents result in these measures to make their children's day fun-filled. On the other hand, reading fiction online promotes mental stimulations in various ways. This is so because children are able to read along with pictures, thereby increasing their ability to understand the story perfectly. In terms of cognitive development, they are able to learn new vocabularies which will in turn increase their language capabilities unlike playing of computer games. For instance, according to the research conducted in the western region of Nigeria, the result revealed about 60% of school children were able to learn new words through online reading. Overall, this will lead to the positive mental development in children. In conclusion, despite the believe of people about online games and television programs, I absolutely think, allowing children read on a computer rather than waste useful time in playing online games is more productive because it improves their cognitive development.