Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out. in your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, if so, how?

English has been a universal language for several decades now. It's taught in almost every country and its simplicity has made it easy to learn. However, you'd find that some of the locals aren't pleased with the consequences, as kids begin to get immersed in English forgetting about their local language. Some even prefer it more! There's no denying that learning English is a necessity. It's used internationally and it can help you study abroad. Also, having English as a second tongue could open up more professional opportunities for you. Nevertheless, it seems to be dominating local languages, especially among younger generations, you'd find that they would start speaking English rather than their mother tongue. It's even used as a measure of status; some people, for instance, believe that being able to speak English means that you're well-educated and wealthy. That being said, is it really important to acquire English as a language? In my opinion, I think that it's important to learn English. It's a handy language and one can always make use of it. However, it shouldn't come in the way of local languages; these should remain intact. We should definitely ensure the survival of local languages, as they are part of the culture. This could be done by ensuring that the mother tongue gets taught in all schools, building communities where everyone can participate in activities that enhances their linguistics and through teaching the locals the history of their language. In conclusion, being able to speak English is great, but one should always pride in their language and never lose it.