Government should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this element.

Some people believe public fundings should be spent on railways, others think this should be spent on roads. In this essay I will explain the reasons why I agree with this statement. Investing in railways is essential as trains are a more convenient means of transport. Take, for example, one train only is needed to carry thousands of passengers to work, meanwhile, private cars are used by one or two people at a time, increasing the traffic noticeably. Another advantage of trains is the short time it takes to arrive downtown. For instance, in Buenos Aires it would take maybe one hour driving in heavy traffic to get to work neighbouring areas such as Vicente Lopez, whereas by train you would only need 15 to 20 minutes. On the other hand, those who think money should be spent on roads argue that cars can reach places that trains do not. The province of Misiones, in Argentina, is one clear example of this, there, trains have not arrived ever. In spite of this, trains are more environmentally friendly than cars owing to the small amount fumes they emit. To illustrate, the contamination emitted by one car in a 30 kilometre trip equals to 400 kilometres of train ride. In conclusion, whereas roads should be built and looked after by the government to reach far away cities, in my opinion, more money should be spent on building railways and trains as these are fast, convenient and environmentally friendly. Moreover, politicians should always bear in mind ecological and practical aspects to decide where to spend money.