Many people are now opting to provide technology companies with their personal data in exchange for access to software. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Many people prefer to share their data with many technology companies, which allow people to approach or use their application. However, I believe this would come with huge risk, especially when the data misuse by companies. So the advantages do not overcome the disadvantages. By allowing access to personal or private data by a technology company, could have a lot of benefits for most of the people. People can have full access to any software, which makes their life easier and productive. For example, Skype a video conference software needs privilege into a microphone, camera and pictures. However, some company takes this leverage of accessing user data, to sell it into other agencies such as advertisements, which put people at risk by compromising their privacy. Providing companies with the privilege to access our data could violate our privacy and security. Some application gathers information and tracks every single activity done by the users. Gathering information would expose a person's life into unwanted meddlesome. Which may use this information in blackmail purposes. For instance, Google tracks every person's activity, 2 years ago Google plus was exposed all the user data on the internet, which used by another to blackmail people. Therefore, the threat of misuse of the data could be dangerous to many people. In conclusion, sharing data with an application must be controlled at a level that can afford the use of personal data which keeps a person's privacy safe. In my opinion, the disadvantages of sharing personal data outweigh the advantages.