the increase in the production of consumer goods (food, clothing) results in damage to the natural environment. What is the cause of this? What can be done to solve this problem?

Nowadays, it is noticeable that the surge in the production of consumer goods may be harmful to our planet. This essay argues that this phenomenon is caused by a marketing strategy from the manufacturers and suggests that the set up of taxes may be the best solution. It is conspicuous that our modern society showcases an ever-increase in the consumption of diverse products including clothing and all sorts of food. This is because companies who lead these sectors use strong marketing strategies in order to attract buyers.Indeed, people tend to acquire things that are often useless, just because they saw a fancy advertisement.Pushing the public to buy everything even if he doesn't need it is ineluctably the engine of many famous firms. For example, it is mundane to witness youngsters who change every year their mobile phone, out of practical reasons, just to get a brand new one. However, solutions exist to overcome this hurdle.In this matter, it is suggested that government may set up taxes on unnecessary commodities aiming to limit their over-consumption.In fact, people, especially young citizens, tend to buy a lot due to a lack of pragmatism.In this regard,skyrocketing the price of this type of merchandise may deter every compulsive purchase. the implementation of a new policy by officials is undoubtedly consequential in protecting our environment. For instance, the increase in the price of tobacco in Morocco induced a wide range of smokers to stop smoking and in that way, consuming an unnecessary product. In conclusion, the hype established by huge companies in order to boost their sales is the prime cause of this over-consumption among our society. Even though, it can be solved through governmental policy such as taxes.