As well as making money, the business should also have social responsibilities. Do you agree or disagree?

Businessmen should take societal obligations along with profit-making. I would also put forth my support to both equally. At the outset, taking benefits out of their organisation is mandatory for any businessman. Firstly, it requires a huge amount of investments to set up an industry. For instance, a recently built cement plant has cost its investors hear about $100000 in my local areas. Secondly, operation and maintenance cost can put a toll on their pocket's. Take an example of electricity bills, rents, staff wages, for which it is imperative to making money from the factory. Lastly, huge taxes are imposed on the business industry that they are bound to pay. Therefore, given these reasons, moneymaking becomes an important target for any business person. On the other hand, besides financial success, it is also a responsibility of any business -owner to make efforts to the upliftment of society. As an established industry tends to use local resources of any particular area, so there is a need to do something in exchange for the betterment of that place. To cite another example from my own experience, a lot of employment opportunities are generated, especially for residents, by the establishment of an oil refinery by a foreign company. At the same time, on the recent environment day, they donated various books to local children. Moreover, several environmental problems could be stemmed from any industrial development. Imagine a new factory could lead to an increase in air, water and noise pollution which would impact society. Thus, it is their responsibility not only to use business practises that lead to less pollution, but also to donate money from their profit to plant the sapling, filter the water and many more. ITC, a papermaking company, is a good example, which donates 5% of the total_profits for society. In conclusion, while financial gains are considered as a sole purpose for any business, from my viewpoint, social upliftment needs to be under the responsibility of business persons.